June 15, 2011

I’ve been mainly blogging about my adventures in weight loss.  Today I’m going to reach a couple other things, my garden, a new tv show and a movie, oh and a little about weight loss.

First, my garden

Here is a pic of my perennial garden.  I love being outside and working in my many gardens, which ranges from some annuals (for a splash of constant color, mostly in the front of the house and in pots on the front porch and back deck), perennials (for that spectacular/dramatic display during its special time of year), herbs and veggies.  Keep in mind I live in west Michigan so my zone is only between 5 and 6.  My sugar peas and green bean seeds have sprouted and are only about 6 inches high.  This week I’ve been training them to crawl up the bamboo support system I’ve got rigged.  Some of the baby sprouts trained very easily and others are being hard-headed, they seem to want to do their own thing.  I’m also growing tomatoes, one large and one grape.  Last year I created a raspberry patch, amazing how much bigger and how many more plants there are this year and all the flowers show promise for lots of yummy red treats later in the summer.  In the herb section I have a lot of basil, oregano, italian mint, rosemary, sage, thyme and chives.  Most of the herbs I clean and freeze and I use them for cooking all year long.  The trick for freezing herbs is simply, clip the leaves, clean, dry, use a good freezer bag.  When your closing the freezer bag be sure to roll the bag and get all the air out before sealing it completely.  Beside my deck I have a large patch of Peonies, wow they smelled pretty this year.  The Peonies and the Lilly of the Valley are already spent for the year.  Next year I will remember to bring some Lilly of the Valley into the house!!  Back in my perennial garden the Poppies and Foxglove are blooming something beautiful!!

One of the things I love is the inside of a Poppy.

Finally saw the movie I am Number Four  last night.  I read the book last fall and loved it, it was written by the writers of James Frey’s think tank.  I found an interesting interview with the book’s “author” on James’ website.  The second book in the series comes out this August. Back to the movie, although they changed several things and left a good deal out, I still think they did a good job with the movie, it was entertaining.  Of course I enjoyed the book more, but that’s pretty typical.

A fun (i.e. young adult paranormal) show started on ABC Family last night, Nine Lives of Chloe King.  I mentioned this show in my summer tv post.  Although I felt a little old watching this show I really enjoyed it.

I’ve finally decided on a scale schedule.  To start I’m going to weigh myself every other Wednesday.  It’s been a few weeks since I weighed myself, so I went for it today.  I’ve gained one pound, which puts my total loss now at four pounds.  I know my workouts are on track, but my food choices could have been better in the last couple of weeks.  So my take aways are to continue moving and pay more attention to what I’m eating.  I’m also going to measure myself every couple of weeks as well (which I have not done previously), so stay tuned for progress there.  I know I have a long journey ahead, so I’m not getting discouraged, rather I’ve reassessed and now back to the trenches.

2 thoughts on “June 15, 2011

  1. I love your garden!!! Those poppies are amazing! I just want to put down a blanket in your yard and have a picnic or read a book! 🙂

    Starting July 1 I am going to start taking myeasurements, too. I think I will measure monthly. Will you be measuring monthly or bi-weekly?

  2. ah, thank you. we do picnic quite often, reading outside is blissful and napping in our hamock, oh boy, love it 🙂

    I’m not sure about measuring, probably monthly. I figure it’s a must, b/c I can see my body changing, but the scales not reflecting a whole lot. Plus some clothes lines give you the measurements and it will help to know when I can go shopping and actually fit in the next size down. Yes, I dream of new clothes, good incentive 🙂

Leave a Reply

