June 20, 2011

Below I have a few books to mention, status on my writing and my fitness adventures.

First I need to take a moment and remember my Uncle Hank, who passed away last Wednesday.  I spent the end of the week with family remembering my Uncle Hank at the funeral home, resurrection services at his church, procession to the cemetery (where I got to run 4 red lights, thanks Uncle Hank) and a luncheon.  My Uncle Hank was 88 years old, he was married to my Aunt for 60 years when she passed 4 years ago and they had one daughter.  My Uncle and Aunt had one of those marriages that leaves the surviving spouse broken-hearted.  I think he only survived these last 4 years because of his sweetheart of a daughter.  My Uncle Hank was one of those great men, one who could tell a story amazingly well, I’m going to miss my Uncle Hank!!!

I recently finished the 3rd book in the Fever series by Karen Marie Moning, I love this series.

Mac is a typical southern girl, or so she thinks.  When her  sister is murdered, leaving a single clue to her  death–a cryptic  message on Mac’s cell phone–Mac journeys to Ireland in  search of  answers. The quest to find her sister’s killer draws her into a  shadowy  realm where nothing is as it seems, where good and evil wear the same   treacherously seductive mask. She is soon faced with an even greater  challenge: staying alive long enough to learn how to handle a power she  had no idea she  possessed–a gift that allows her to see beyond the  world of man, into the dangerous  realm of the Fae…

Fae Fever (the 3rd book) ends in a very unexpected way and I have no idea where book 4 will go.  I’m going to find out soon, because I started it yesterday.  Luckily for me the 5th book in the series came out in January, which I’m betting I’ll gobble up when I’m done with book 4.  Love it when an author writes a seriously challenging situation and the heroine finds strength she didn’t even know she had, not to mention the very serious sexual tension.  Good stuff here, be sure to check it out!!!

I have another series to mention.  I actually got my husband to read Hunger Games and he loved it of course.  Now I’m hoping he’ll move onto Catching Fire and MockingJay, seriously good reads!!

As for my writing, I’d actually hoped to be done with my current book at this point in June.  Well so much for wishful thinking!!  I have not written in over a month.  This week that will change, I need it to change, I need this book on the page and out of my head.

My week ended with all workouts intact, I completed my Sunday Pilates and all 5 40-minute workouts.  I didn’t get in my Pilates yesterday (I’m going to try for that some afternoon this week, yesterday I was emotionally spent and needed a day to chill out) and I got in another 40-minute workout in this am.  I did a lot better with my food decisions, except for the pan-fried chicken fillet and seriously butter filled rice that I ate at the luncheon.  Yes I cracked after a pain filled couple of days.  Today I am back on the wagon.

4 thoughts on “June 20, 2011

  1. I am so sorry for your loss. Your uncle sounds like a wonderful man.

    Ummmm, yeah. I just left a comment on a different post asking if you have read the hunger games and now I have my answer. Lol!

    • I finished hunger games last week and started catching fire buy haven’t had much free time to read it. I loved the hunger games- such a unique storyline. Typically I don’t like the actors cast in movies from books I like; i.e. Katherine Hiegl playing Stephanie Plum, but I really think they did a good job casting the Hunger Games. I am interested to see how the movie turns out. I have not read that other series you mentioned but will definitely check it out. Thanks for the recommendation.

      Questions for you: how excited are you to see the last Harry Potter movie? Also, I know you watch AI but have you been watching The Voice?

  2. The hunger games books can be hard at times to read. I got so caught up in worrying about the characters that it was hard to read them straight through. Yes, I’m one of those readers that thinks if I’m not reading it then the characters are safe and no harm can come to them 🙂

    Katherine Hiegl, I know, it may have not been the best choice and knowing the release date for the movie has changed at least 3 times is not reassuring…which is why I’ve lowered my expectations

    So excited about the last Potter movie (that remindes me I need to line up a sitter). Now there are movies that are not as good as the books, but they come a close 2nd!! Yes, I watch the Voice, so interesting, I actually really love the format. I think I’m pulling for Javier or Vicci, but they are all awesome!!

Leave a Reply

