June 23, 2011

Love it when I can find some real common sense or new knowledge in my weight loss Journey and I just got both from Bob Greene via an email from Oprah mail.  He provided a great list, be sure to check it out.  Below are the 3 that really stuck with me, as either new to me or provided me with an ah ha moment.

Did you know one of the mistakes often made is simply working out to burn calories, the reason surprised me, but makes so much sense: What matters more is exercise intensity. Vigorous exercise dulls your appetite, while moderate exercise stimulates it.  I’ve been following a pretty intense workout schedule and on these days I do really pretty well on food.  It’s on the weekend (when I have a break) that I have trouble with food, very interesting!!

Another mistake I often make (and a lot of the cause for my weight issues) is eating not because I’m hungry, but because my emotions are on edge.  Bob suggests using a hunger scale, I’ve heard this many times but have never really worked it.  Imagine a scale from one to five—one being full, and five being ravenous. If you’re hitting a three—your stomach’s grumbling, you’re physically dragging—it’s time to eat. Any lower than that, and you’re eating to fill an emotional need, not a physical one.  I’m really going to try using this train of thought.  Last night I so wanted a snack, I kept thinking about it and thinking about it, had myself convinced I was hungry, I don’t think I was.  I ended up having two grapes and the last 5 kernels of popcorn I popped for my boys.  I did give in to the need to eat, but it could have been sooooo much worse.  I’m going to start using this scale and I’ll let you know how it goes.

One of the reasons I’m so excited by my current journey to a health is that I’m not giving up.  I just realized that since I became overweight I’ve only ever worked at it for, at most, 10 weeks.  Although I had not gotten serious about my actions until just over 7 weeks ago, I have been working out for over 10 weeks now!!  I’m not giving up now, I’m in this for the long hall, i.e. the rest of my life.  Bob says we underestimate the power of 80 percent. People tend to have an all-or-nothing attitude when it comes to living healthy. But if you can put these tips into practice even 80 percent of the time, you’re still going to be successful.  I’ve thought a lot about the 80-20 rule as of late.  Failing is difficult for me, always has been and that is how I’ve always looked at my weight, one failure after another.  Well, no more!!!  My reasonable head is on now with a bright light that says: keep moving forward (thanks Walt Disney, love those 3 words).  I’m going to keep working on my goal of working out 200 minutes a week/eating sensibly, but I am only human, things will come up.  Each day I won’t beat myself up over missteps.  I’ll start each day a new, learn from my missteps and work hard to meet my goals.

Thank you to everyone who has helped to keep me going on this journey!!!

5 thoughts on “June 23, 2011

  1. What a great post! I learned so much from this that I can apply to my life- thank you. I had no idea about the intensity thing although I will say that after boxing (definitely my most intense workout) I can’t fathom eating anything which now makes sense.

    You are doing so great and I know you will continue to be successful and live a long, healthy life!

  2. Folks like Bob know so much, I love it when they share meaty tid bits like this!!

    Thanks for the support Dacia!! This is a pretty exciting time in our lives, I mean we are instilling change, pretty cool

  3. Pingback: July 7, 2011 | Simply Sidney

  4. Pingback: August 5, 2011 | Simply Sidney

  5. Pingback: The New You Challenge: Week Two « thirtythreeandcounting

Leave a Reply

