July 5, 2011

Going back to work after a long holiday weekend is never easy, I hope you are all transitioning well.  My husband comes home tonight after a very long weekend of playing gigs in the Chicagoland area, I can’t wait!!!  I get to take my oldest to his swim class at our local Y today. Since hubby isn’t around, I will need to take our youngest (now 22 months) with us…oh boy.  I know parents do this all the time, but I’m not used to it, spoiled I guess.  I know we’ll do fine.  Actually I’m going to try to enjoy the time, rather than stressing that my little guy is making too much trouble.

I’m going to fess up that I had a terrible food weekend.  I alluded to my problems in my July 3rd post and I did do better yesterday, but I didn’t workout and basically felt bad the whole day.  Today I am happy to say that I got up and worked out, I’ve already had some breakfast and I’m on glass 3 & 4 of water.  Yes, today is a better day already and I feel pretty great.  Since I am paying more attention to how I feel, this weekend has given me some very interesting discoveries.  Of course my discoveries are nothing I didn’t already know, but my mind is finally taking hold.  Before I started this journey I knew I was an emotional eater and I knew you could solve these problems without food.  The problem I had in breaking the cycle is that I didn’t truly believe that different solutions could actually make me feel better.  My ah ha moment came this weekend when I hit rock bottom, no workouts, not enough water and bad food choices.  I knew these types of decisions left me feeling pretty terrible, but when having a bad day after having so many great days, wow, talk about a drastic change.  I’ve recently had so many good days that it was easy to compare them to how bad a bad day felt.  Simply amazing.  To top off an enlightning weekend, one of my favorite bloggers posted Cues and Pathways (if you haven’t been to Lyn’s blog yet you’ve got to go, in the least check out her before and now pictures).  She wrote about some pretty typical ways we emotional eaters fall into the pit and also gives great examples how to solve those problems without food.  I knew I was feeling pretty good these last several weeks, but man oh man did I feel bad these last few days…big obvious lesson for me.

Checking my target heart rate during my workouts is one of the ways I ensure I’m getting the most out of my workouts.  If your heart isn’t pumping fast enough, you’re missing the opportunity to improve your cardiovascular health.  As we get in better shape our resting heart rate will lower.  Have you checked your resting heart rate lately?  You may be surprised, I sure was.  As you know  your resting heart rate is a part of the calculation to find your target heart rate.  If you are using the Karvonen Method to calculate your Target Heart Rate, as your resting heart rate lowers, so will your target heart rate.  I also found some information on Target Heart Rate Zones, interesting.

6 thoughts on “July 5, 2011

  1. That’s the spirit, that’s all we can do, try, try again…wouldn’t life be boring if we had nothing to strive for, aim for? Well done with the workouts back on track and keep up the good work! I wasn’t feeling that great on the weekend but today I had a very productive day, including writing 6 pages of my novel. I past the page 50 mark today too.

    Happy Week, G :<)

    • You are so right, it would be boring, what a great way to look at this journey!! 6 pages, nice!! I’m finally back on the writing train, I took some unexpected time off. It was getting time to write the downward turn and it was getting me really upset, silly I know. I think the time off was good, let the ideas settle. The last two days I’ve been re-reading what I have so far and I’m happy to say I still really like it…but now on to breaking my main characters heart, urgg. On the up side, as soon as I break it, I can put it back together.

      Yes, have a happy week Geraldine!! 🙂 Sid

  2. Aren’t those ‘Ah Ha’ moments great? I love that feeling of knowing I am doing something right or even the feeling of knowing I am doing something wrong and I am able to understand why. Before I would eat junk and it would make me feel lik crap but I never did anything about it. Now when I eat junk, or don’t drink enough water, or don’t exercise, and I feel crappy I know why and I know what I need to do to feel better and I work harder to avoid feeling that way again. You are doing great! I see the progression you have made over the past couple of months and it’s amazing! You inspire me every day! Thank you!

  3. ahh, thanks Dacia!! The understanding is the best part, so rewarding to really know more about yourself. I’m so glad you found my blog and I yours, the inspiration alone is helpful, but knowing someone is right their with you is pretty cool.

    • I couldn’t agree more. I think about it often- how thankful I am to have someone there with me, going through the same thing, encouraging me, supporting me. It’s a great feeling and it helps make it so much easier. Yay us!

  4. Pingback: July 7, 2011 | Simply Sidney

Leave a Reply

