August 3, 2011

I wish I had some good news to share today, but alas today is not the day for good news.

I actually got out of bed all eager today, because today is scale day.  I’ve had three weeks in a row of weight-loss and this past week I kept up the same patterns.  For the first time in forever I wasn’t getting an upset stomach before getting on the scale.  Figures just when you start to get past something is when you get blindsided.

I was hoping for a loss of 1.4 pounds, which would mean I’d met my very first goal of 15%.  I didn’t lose 1.4 pounds, I didn’t lose a single ounce, in fact I gained 1.8 pounds!!!  What the _ _ _ _!!!  How is this possible!!  Well obviously I ate more calories than I thought!!  I’m certain I’ve gained more muscle, which I know weighs more, but come on.

I’ll admit I cried, pretty uncomfortably for a couple of minutes and I’m fighting them again right now.  Why is it in these moments of feeling like an utter failure your mind fills with all kinds of evidence to back it up.  While I was feeling miserable I thought for a second that it would be a good idea not to workout this morning.  That feeling of possibly giving up is what stopped my tears.  I knew immediately that I would work out and that I wouldn’t give up.  Although I certainly feel like I’ll be heavy forever, I’m not going to stop trying to get rid of it!!  I’m going to keep fighting.

I do have a tiny smidgen of good news.  My BMI is currently 29.6, which  is .4 away from again being obese.  Thank heavens for the tenths decimal place, not sure what I would do without you this morning.

My goal this week will be to keep up with the things I’m doing right:

  • workout daily
  • get at least 64 oz of water a day
  • no eating after dinner
  • reasonable portions

Just yesterday I was thinking about how I believed I’d been keeping my calorie count down, but that I needed to make better food choices.  I also haven’t been getting enough sleep.  My remaining goals will include:

  • Choose my foods according to MyPlate
  • Get at least 7.5 hours of sleep a night

Since I’m weighing myself weekly I found this gain quickly.  It was not even a month ago when I discovered that I had gained back all that I had originally lost.  Before the weigh in on July 7th it has been a month since I’d weighed myself.  Maybe this time I caught the issue early and I will be able to adjust and move forward.  I am still very sad, and here come the tears again.  I’m sure I’ll keep fighting them back all day, but I’ll keep fighting and isn’t that the point.

4 thoughts on “August 3, 2011

  1. Yeah, it sucks! It is hard not to be upset when you do everything right but yet you gain. However, ‘catching’ it after a week helps you to readjust quickly. Making some small changes can significantly impact your progress. I know you track calories and was curious how you did it, like are you using myfitnesspal or livestrong or tracking on paper or electronic document?

    You have great goals in place and my only recommendation is to up your water intake (I feel better once I hit 3-4L in a day) and watch your salt intake. It’s amazing how much salty food can cause you to retain water. If I were you, I would drink a ton of water today and re-weigh tomorrow to see if any of that 1.8 was water weight.

    • I track my calories in excel, I use data on the package, but I use livestrong quite a bit. My poor eatting habits definitely side heavy on the salt, not so much the sweet. I have not been tracking my salt intake, I’m sure it’s high. You know I was just thinking the other day that I could probably pretty easily get in at least another 16 oz of water, which I think tells me that my body probably wants more. I’ll try to get an extra 32 ounces in today and let you know what the scale says tomorrow. I know it may not show a change, but I’m betting I’ll feel better. thanks for the advice, I really needed it!!!

  2. I’m still cheering for you girl.
    When I started doing yoga I jumped on the scale and was shocked to see I had gained. I was so upset because I felt that my body was starting to look so much better. It didn’t help me either when my husband told me it was muscle. “I don’t want to be a bodybuilder,” I thought. But it does help lose more weight in the long run.
    Sleep is also very important. Serotonin gets us through our days.
    “G-O S-I-D-N-E-Y , Go- Sidney.” That’s as close as I’ll ever come to being a cheer leader. 🙂

Leave a Reply

