August 5, 2011

Today is a new day and water is my friend.  I took some good advice yesterday from the very wise Dacia.  I was surprised at how easy it was to drink more than an extra 32 ounces of water yesterday.  I wasn’t constantly drinking water, just more cognizant on continued drinking during the day.  With my old plan (yes I’ve already firmly cast my old plan aside) I was very easily drinking 64 oz and it seems there were times during the day when I would have liked to have another drink but held back.  Well, no more, I’m going to drink when ever I want and enjoy as much as I can.  I currently predict I’ll be getting about 100 oz or 3 liters.  On to the scale problem…

When I weighed myself on Wednesday morning I was up 1.8 pounds from the previous week.  I weighed myself this morning and I’m still up from last weeks weigh in, but now it is only .4 pounds.  How could I have possibly have lost 1.4 pounds in two days, unless I was retaining water!!!  Very interesting!!  Which leads me to another goal, a goal I didn’t want to make, but I’m going to take baby steps.  I need to start watching my sodium.  Arghh, oh I said it and I will work on it, oh boy

I’m going to restate all my goals, I think I need the reminder

  • Workout 7 days a week.
    • Yesterday I tried a workout I have not done since my BMI was in the normal range.  It was hard, but I did it, which got me thinking.  I have a couple other workouts that are 40 or more minutes and if I added them to my rotation (including my new Nia workout) I’ll have 7 different workouts in my rotation.  I like the idea of working my muscles differently every day of the week.
    • I’ve been pushing the snooze button too many times and risking the occurrence of a no workout day.  I’m going to change my alarm and work on not pushing the snooze or only pushing it once.
  • drink 100 ounces of water a day, but absolutely no less than 64
  • Make AND start eating breakfast before turning on my laptop
  • No eating after dinner
  • Pay attention to the hunger scale
  • Make good food/portion choices, take in no more than 2,300 mg of sodium per day
    • I may fail this goal a few times, but without paying any attention I’m sure I’d blow this goal out of the water.  By paying attention I think it will help in making better food choices.
  • Weigh myself weekly
    • I need to work on not taking the scale so literally.  It is a big indicator and its numbers are a huge part of my final goal, but it is only one indicator!!!
  • Measure myself monthly

Well that’s it, for now anyways.  Happy weekend everyone, don’t forget the sun screen!!!

 

2 thoughts on “August 5, 2011

  1. Yay!!! Only .4 lbs!!! See, water weight is evil. Lol! Last weekend when we were moving I ‘gained’ almost four pounds in two days. Yes, I didnt eat great but I monitored my portions so I knew there wasn’t 4 pounds of actual weight. Come Monday, I drank a ton of water and lo and behold come Tuesday I was back down to what I weighed on Friday. Ah, the power of water 🙂

  2. Wow, 4 pounds, that’s crazy, but so very interesting!! Thanks so much for the suggestion. I’m curious to see what my weight will be next week if I can watch my sodium and keep up the water!!

Leave a Reply

