August 22, 2011

Consistency is best and complacency can slap you sideways.

Just when you begin to count on things staying the course, just when you have a handle on your life and you feel the cruise control coming on, something somewhere in your life will make a left turn.  It can be a change in your health or someone you love, it can be a change in your job or cash flow, it could be a friend moving far away or being cruel.  What ever your left turn is, I think it is important to remember some truths about yourself.  No matter if your problems come in threes or fives or tens, there are many many things still going right in your life.  Every day and I mean every day, even when all turns are right turns, take that 5 minutes to think about what is going well, what you have to be thankful for.  Your cup is always more than 1/2 full, but you have to choose to fill it, you have to choose you.  But especially when things start to sour do you have to keep refilling that cup.  Keep moving forward.

A good friend posted on Facebook today the following quote: When faced with an obstacle, mature people look for something to do…not someone to blame.  Great quote.  I’ve been thinking for the past several days about my cup.  My husband was in the hospital for 1/2 a day several weeks ago (long story, I mentioned it in my last post, here’s the short of it:  dehydration > passed out > hit his head > ER visit > four staples > many tests and doctor visits and missed gigs) and last week the hospital stay for my son (see my last post for the ugly details), which means more missed gigs for my dear husband and cash flow is going to get tight in the next month, that savings account is about it get a lot smaller.  On a much smaller scale, I also missed a couple workouts last week and it was hard to get back into my routine.  Not only was it hard to get up at my usual time, but my workouts were harder too.  I’m working at getting back in shape and any set back will be felt.  But the truth of the mater: we do have savings to pull from, I did get up and workout.  We can work in the months and years ahead to build our savings back up, my healthy journey is going to be a long one and I’ll push through the hiccups and keep going.  Keep moving forward.  I shouldn’t waste even a part of the day freaking out about what the insurance wont cover or about how long it is going to take me to lose the weight.

What matters is today.  Have you refilled your cup today?  Take a few minutes, right now and just do it, choose you, you are so worth it!!!

2 thoughts on “August 22, 2011

  1. Thank you for sharing this. Life does have twists and turns but there is ALWAYS something to be thankful for. I’ve been having a rough time lately, and I needed this reminder to CHOOSE to fill my cup. 🙂

Leave a Reply

