August 24, 2011

We all know opposites attract and it can be so very true in weight loss any everyday life as well.  I’m creating a list, let me know if you can think of some too

  • Drink more water to lose water weight
  • Exert energy to gain energy
  • Spend money to make money (ok, this only applies to the entrepreneurs out there, but it’s still true)
  • If you sleep too much you’ll feel tired

For those of us on the weight loss journey we also know there is a fine line between eating enough calories to keep up your energy, ensure your body doesn’t go into starvation mode (i.e. lowering your metabolism to hold onto weight) but is still losing weight.  Balance is so important.  Not only do we need to have a balanced diet, we need a balanced life style.  Sure there is not enough hours in a day to get everything done.  But there are still 24 hours in everyday.  A lot of the hours of our day are eaten up by sleep, exercise, travel and work; but there are still many hours left to enjoy.  Some days you may only get 5 minutes, make them count.  It’s all too easy to get wrapped up in our struggles, too easy to be hard on ourselves.  I’ve got a lot on my plate these days and I’m working at finding my balance.  It’s really easy to get very caught up in the negative or to feel you’ll never get to your destination.  Remember that 1/2 of our journey is how we get there, enjoy the ride.  Finding joy in the simple things makes it easier to handle the struggles.

Breathe. Balance. Enjoy.

Today was a weigh day for me and I’m most pleased at the little resistance my mind had towards the event.  Sure I’ve worked hard over the past several days, made good food choices and got in almost all the water I had planned for, but you just never know what that dang scale is going to say.  Again, knowing I’m not leaving this journey, I’m going to keep chosing me is making it easier to face the reality of the scale.  Through thick and hopefully one day thin I’m staying in the game for as long as I live.  I’m happy to say I’ve lost 1.8 pounds since Friday (I weighed in two days late last week), how cool is that.  I’ve also lost another inch off my waist and hips, for a total of two inches down in my trouble areas!!  My BMI is down to 28.5, which is pretty cool considering I got off track earlier this month.  Once again I have had three weeks in a row of losses, which I also had in early July.  I guess really getting off track isn’t the worst thing that could happen, as long as I get my head back in the game.  Hey, if I can go another three weeks I just might reach my 30% goal!!  This week my head will stay fixed on my goals, no getting side tracked.  Well I do have a huge party to throw on Sunday for my boys birthdays.  No, I will not be side tracked, head in the game, straight forward one foot in front of the other.

Breathe. Balance. Enjoy.

4 thoughts on “August 24, 2011

  1. Great post today! I will let you know if I think of any opposites.

    Ummm, what??? 1.8 pounds since Friday! That’s amazing! Look at you go! I am so happy you are making peace with the scale. The mental aspect of weight loss is probably the hardest part and you’ve conquered that obstacle. It seems easier now, doesn’t it?

    Congrats again! You are amazing!!!

  2. I know right, never thought I’d lose more than one pound in a week. There have now been 4 weeks in the past two months were I’ve lost an average of 1.9 pounds a week. I’m not counting on more than one pound in the future, but gosh it feels good today.
    I’ll tell you that my battle with the scale has been hard and was a big part of my problem in starting this journey. WAS 🙂

Leave a Reply

