August 26, 2011

A couple of insights, change in goals and a little joke…

I set out yesterday to see what else I could be doing to help me in my weight loss journey, besides: good food choices/portions, getting enough water/sleep/exercise, finding a good balance in my workout schedule.  My search began with looking for information about metabolism and I actually learned a few things.  According to The IF Life we do not actually raise our metabolism by eating small more frequent meals.  They’ve quoted Martin over at leangains.com

“if you eat six small meals throughout the day, you will store and burn less fat between the meals compared to three meals a day, while you will store and burn more fat with three meals a day. Note that I say ‘store’, because fat storage and fat burning is an ongoing process ‘ with six small meals you will store less AND burn less, and with three meals a day you will store more AND burn more”

Ok, yes, metabolism is more complicated than I thought.  I even found a site that had a scary statement, “even more important is the observation that an increased metabolism has been shown to cause premature aging“.  WHAT, OMG, you’ve got to be kidding me.  To all you superior athletes out there that is so not fair.  Ok, lets calm down and let cooler heads prevail.

During my search I found over and over again that weight loss is simple, create a calorie deficit and you will lose weight.  Simple.  I like simple.  But we all know it’s not that simple.

There are many reasons to eat frequently, especially if you have blood sugar problems, but there is another reason, especially those of us who have had problems listening to our hunger scale.  We are more likely to over eat or choose foods poorly when we are past a 5 on the hunger scale.  I’m thinking we could use smaller more frequent meals as a training ground for making better food choices and allow the good addiction to how good you can feel to grow strong.

The Calories per hour article (see scary link above) states:

It is important to understand what happens when you skip a meal or go on a crash diet. When you skip a meal your metabolism slows to conserve your energy. And when you lose weight too quickly for a few days, your body thinks it is threatened with starvation and goes into survival mode. It fights to conserve your fat stores, and any weight loss comes mostly from water and muscle.

Never skip a meal, especially breakfast, and eat healthy snacks between meals. Eating frequently prevents hunger pangs and the binges that follow, provides consistent energy, and may be the single most effective way to maintain metabolism efficiency.

What have I learned?  Don’t over complicate the situation.  I’m going to continue to eat 3 big meals a day and one or two small snacks.  Those hunger pains are not my friend, they are not a sign of losing weight, they are a sign of a slowing metabolism and can cause me to lose muscle, yikes, I don’t want that!!

I also took a good hard look at my final weight loss goal.  I can imagine a lot goes into deciding our final goals and there are many ways to determine what is a healthy weight.  Although I really like the idea of my initial goal, it really wasn’t necessary.  Remember I am 5′ 2″, when I reach 136 pounds I will be at the top of the normal BMI range (24.9).  I was originally planning to reach 120 pounds (my wedding day weight), but for now I’ve adjusted my goal to be 130 pounds (BMI: 23.9).  With my new goal I will still get into the normal weight range and have 6 pounds to spare.  My goal is still to make my goal in the 1st Q of 2012, but I have just over a pound to reach 30% of my final weight loss goal, and that’s pretty cool.  I keep second guessing my thought process in changing my goal and that is in large part to my demons.  I do not need to be the same weight as when I got married.  I no longer want to beat myself up about my weight and to be honest I still have a lot of work to do.  Luckily I have a little angel in my pocket and she helped me talk through it yesterday, thank you Dacia 🙂

And finally here’s the funny from a friend on Facebook: Claiming a product promotes weight loss when combined with diet and exercise is like claiming it grants wishes when used with a leprechaun

TGIF Gang!! (quote from my favorite high school teacher)

2 thoughts on “August 26, 2011

  1. persistence, what a great word, it makes a good theme for this journey…keep going; keep moving forward; get off track, don’t fret just start anew the next day, but be Persistent

    Thanks Amy!!

Leave a Reply

