September 1, 2011

Fall maybe just over 20 days away but my garden is showing no signs of slowing down.  I have several pictures for you below.  Although perennials do not flower all summer like the annuals, so many of them are so worth the wait, like the hibiscus, wow!!!  Before I get to the pictures I want to write about how much I’m going to miss our hummingbirds when they leave.  We have our feeder right outside the window next to our kitchen table.  Our family, who I swear have been visiting us for the last several years.  It seems we get the same 3 birds every year.  I’m pretty certain because they look the same and have the same eating habits.  We have “perchy” (who I refer to as momma) who likes to sit on the feeder and look at us through the window as she eats.  We also have the “big guy” (I think this is dad), he comes up all big and round, gorges and flies away.  Lastly we have “spaz” (or junior, I think this is their little boy), he flies quickly around the feeder, taking a quick drink from each entrace and he’s off.  They’ve eat the same way every year.  They are so predictable, it’s so comforting.  The last several weeks they’ve been eating like crazy, they are fattening up for their trip south for the winter and I will miss them.

I found the following information at a hummingbird site, if you currently do not have humming birds where you live, they may be headed your way as they travel to Mexico for the winter.

Little is known about fall migration routes in RTHUs. It was once thought that nearly all RTHU from the U.S. flew to Florida in autumn before crossing the Gulf of Mexico to Mexico’s Yucatan Peninsula. Some migrant RTHUs apparently do fly from Florida to the Yucatan; however, many RTHUs gather in Louisiana or Texas in mid-September before flying across the Gulf, and some may take an overland route through Mexico.

Consider putting out a feeder with some nectar (1 part sugar to 4 parts hot water (some sites recommend 5 parts water), stir until sugar is dissolved, once the nectar has cooled place in a clean feeder (use water and lysol wipes, rinse well) and hang in a place you can easily see.  I make my nectar a 1/2 cup at a time, but you can store extra nectar in the frig for 5-7 days), I promise, if they come, the little effort will be so worth it.  If you have a problem with attracting bees with your feeder, it’s good to know that bees are actually not that smart and if you move your feeder just a little, i.e. just a few inches, they wont be able to find the feeder, they’ll give up and go away.

Now for some pictures.

First up is the Hibiscus, the mean japanese beatles did some real damage to their leaves before I got rid of them, but luckily the flower buds were unharmed.

I also have butterfly bush, purple and green cone flower (I need to get some black-eyed susans, right now I just have the annual version) and upright phlox blooming right now.  I’m attracting a lot of butterflies and other bugs, I think there is a constant party going on in my garden.  I have a few flowers that have yet to bloom, like my mums and one I can’t remember the name, but you’ll see the buds in the pictures below.  I’m hoping I’ll be able to remember the name or find out once it starts to bloom.  I think the butterfly below has earphones on, wonder what he’s listening to?

2 thoughts on “September 1, 2011

Leave a Reply

