Random Thoughts Monday v2.0

Happy Monday everyone, hope you’re feeling rested and ready for another week.  My weekend was full of family and friends which was wonderful, except nothing got done on my to do list.  It’s going to be a busy week!!

  • The Detroit Lions: can you believe it, we are 2-0!!  They didn’t just kind of win yesterday, their 48-3 win was a trouncing.  In additional Michigan happy football news, my alma mater Western Michigan University ended a five-year drought over our biggest rival Central Michigan University with a 44-14 win.  WMU’s record is now 3-1 and that one loss was to U of M (who is also having a great year, so far, knock on wood!!) which had a final score of 34-10, not bad for little WMU against a big 10 school.
  • DVR, OnDemand, Netflix, Red Box, Hulu, Video stores, Blu-ray, DVD, VHS: goodness so much has changed.  I remember not to long ago when I would have to program my VCR to record a program.  I remember when I used to have to leave home to rent a movie.  Things just keep changing, thankfully they usually get easier in this area, but they keep changing
  • Emmy’s shmemmys: I remember when I was little and I’d sit in front of the tv with popcorn and my mom and watch dutifully every second of every award show and pageant.  Now a days, I just check on-line in the am, find a list of winners and read a little about what happened.  What was once several hours now takes just a few minutes.
  • Winter time at the Zoo: here in Michigan not all animals stay at the Zoo all winter.  Yesterday we were at a birthday party in Grand Rapids at the Zoo, so much fun!!!  I got a chance to ask the zoo folks what happens in the winter time.  Apparently some animals (who have indoor habitats) do stay all winter, others go to other zoos or they go home for the winter.  Their biggest croc is going to Florida for the winter, his owner is coming next month to pick him up and take him home.  So interesting.  We also saw the zoo kitchen, where it became apparent that most zoo animals eat better than I do.  The kitchen was full of veggies.  But it was also full of frozen mice and frozen blood.  They actually make popsicles out of blood and mice, gross!!  They also make paper mache to hold treats that the animals can rip apart.  See here for the true story of how this zoo build a meat filled paper mache zebra and placed it in the lion pen last month.

Well that’s all for this week.  Have a good one and don’t forget to fill your grocery basket with fruits and veggies, zoo animals will have nothing on me this week 🙂

2 thoughts on “Random Thoughts Monday v2.0

  1. Ha! Another thing we have in common- we both went to MAC schools. I went to U of Akron for grad school which is in the MAC east. Paul also went to a MAC school- Kent state. WMU is MAC west but still it’s the same conference 🙂

Leave a Reply

