Random Thoughts Monday v5.0

2nd Monday in October and I feel a lot of pressure.  Summer has ended, Fall tasks should be in full gear and the end of year is near, sorry for the rhythm, I was hoping it would cheer me up.  I’m already behind on my October to do list, but there are happy roads ahead.  For one it is the start of a new week and I WILL make progress on that to do list.  My busy busy weekend is behind me, I won an eBay auction and got my oldest his preferred costume for Halloween and I now can fully concentrate on my up coming Nia White Belt Training, now that is some good news!!!  Is something standing in your way to making your next big goal?

  • How often have you heard your own generation or the generation that came before you talk about when they were young they’d run out the front door and not come home until the street lights came on?  I was at a wedding this weekend and that was a big topic at our table.  Yes they were remembering an easier time but it got me thinking a very sad thought…that first child who was hurt, those first parents that got the bad news their child was taken.  How brave those early parents were to speak out and help change the tide and those parents that learned from previous parents.  Our children now lead a much sheltered life early on, from the car seat to back yard play time.  I’m mentally thanking all those parents who have helped to make all our children safer.
  • Why is popular not always better?  You’d think if something was popular it would be quality, the best and most everyone would want some.  For example: the most popular fiction is not always the best written work.  The most bought burger (McDonald’s most likely) is definitely not the best tasting.  The most popular music can be pretty awful, not only in the talent of the singer but also in the quality of the music.  My husband has told me that the majority of the most famous tunes have 3 or less cords and it’s almost always the same 3 cords in every song.  I don’t even want to get started on the most popular kids in school, we almost all know they are not always the nicest of people.  But in more ways than one the most popular can reach the masses and become their fav as well.  So that is probably all it is, being popular means more people know about it and if more people know about it more people will love it…so if more people found your most favorite thing it could potential become the next pop thing of the moment?  Oh boy, protect your favorite thing, don’t tell a soul 😉 In my book some of the most popular things are pretty great, but what is even better yet is when that popular thing leads me to not so popular things that I love even more.  I know so many folks who wont admit they like popular things.  Like admitting you love Twilight is the equivalent to bad taste in books/movies.  Will you admit to your pop favorites?  Evan Rachel Wood recently admitted to loving Justin Bieber, so come on don’t be embarrassed, tell us what you love.
  • I need to find some critique partners for my book.  I’ve written close to 50,000 words and no one has read it but me, not good.  I’ve found the first writing group that I want to ask if I can join.  I’m so nervous, I had thought my first rejections would come from a publisher, but I fear I will get my first this week from my peers, double eek.  Of course I need to be brave, if this group isn’t for me I will just keep looking, there should be a group out there somewhere that is right for me and I wont find it until I start putting myself out there, goodness I sound like I’m about to join an online dating service 😉
  • Today is a huge day in Michigan sports .  Tigers game 2 I hate to say but is a MUST win and Lions playing Monday night Football, oh boy oh boy!!  Say a little prayer for my boys please, pretty please

Come back on Wednesday when I find out if my weekend away killed my weight loss goal for the week or not, triple eek, no, I’m not nervous 😉

6 thoughts on “Random Thoughts Monday v5.0

  1. So I just figured out that you live in Michigan!!! Where are you? I live in the Lansing area!
    I would absolutely LOVE to read your book! I also have a a good friend who was an editor, and I could probably get her to have a look at it as well.

    • Yes we are in Kalamazoo, we both grew up in the Metro Detriot area (about 20 minutes apart) but met at WMU
      Ah that is so sweet that you’d be willing to read my book!! I wonder when it will be ready, I have no idea 🙂
      What genre of books does your friend edit?

  2. Wow, that’s great! My husband is from Lansing and I am from Okemos, and now we live in Haslett which is just outside of Lansing to the east.
    My friend used to edit for a Christian magazine/publication. I call her the grammar police, she’s great with the technical editing!

Leave a Reply

