Scale Day v15.0

This past week wasn’t one of the hardest on this journey but it was up there at the top.  I wasn’t sure I was going to make it, after a couple of obstacles I was struggling, straining and praying to make it through the week with some sort of loss.  I was also fighting against the pattern that has appeared over the last six weeks, one week lose over a pound and the next less than a pound, repeat, repeat, I did NOT want the pattern to report for a fourth time!!  Head games were certainly a part of my problem this week.  I continued to workout everyday, which is really working for me.  I had a busy weekend with being out-of-town, a wedding and a date night in which I struggled to stay on top of my water intake and my calorie count.  By this morning I was preparing myself for less than a pound loss, which was extremely hard to take after the real strong push I gave it the last two days.

No one was more shocked than me when I saw not 149, not 148, but 147.6, the pattern has been broken!! I had a 1.7 pound loss this week.  My four-week loss is 5.4 pounds!!  Even more important as of today I am exactly 1/2 way through this journey!!!!  I also stated a new goal last week: to lose 5 pounds before I start my Nia White Belt training.  I have 4 more weeks to go and now I have 3.3 more pounds to lose before I knock off that goal.

I’m putting a lot of pressure on myself and I’m going to crack unless I can relax a little, ok a lot.

Last week I worked out over 400 minutes and this past week I worked out 30 minutes less.  Why did I work out less?  Well for one I wasn’t home to get two afternoon workouts in.  Maybe more importantly I knew I wasn’t going to get those extra workouts in.  I could have prepared better and gotten an extra workout in before the weekend.  Planning for the workout week, area #1 for improvement.  I’m doing better on getting at least 7 1/2 hours of sleep and I’m feeling a ton better for it as well.  I’ve begun drinking 32 oz more of water a day, bringing my daily total to 128 oz or 3.8 liters or 8-16 oz glasses of water.  Lets just say my body is enjoying the extra water, I’m keeping headaches away and #2 is coming more regularly. I do have one other area for improvement and that is ensuring I don’t go too long between eating during the day.  I’ve gotten pretty good at making sure I don’t go over my calorie limit for the day, but sometimes that can mean a large stretch in the afternoon of no eating, NOT good, I don’t enjoy it and my body hates having to wait too long to eat.  Planning out my food so that I have room for an afternoon snack, area #2 for improvement.  I’ve added these items to my Weight Loss Journey Goals tab, love that tab!!

So how did I survive this weekend of a wedding, my dad’s big sunday breakfast and restaurant eating?  First off horderves at the wedding were killer, my favorite things to eat.  Fruit, cheese cubes, guacamole and chips.  Did I eat only fruit, of course not, that would be against everything I believe in, but the key was moderation.  After filling 1/2 my little plate with fruit I was faced with the cheese plate.  I know how quickly cheese cubes can add up the calories, but I took two.  Since guacamole is the good fat I took some, but I knew there would only be a few chips so I only took a little glob.  After counting out chips over the last several months I know how quickly those large chips get you over 150 calories, so I took only a couple chips.  Next up was salad and I forgot to order my dressing on the side, big mistake.  I skipped eating the croutons and only ate half of the dressing drenched salad :(.  Then on to the main course.  I ordered up grilled tilapia, which was wonderful.  I had only two small bites of rice and ate a good bit of the grilled veggies.  I was very full by the end and drank nothing but water.  Although I could have done better it could have been so much worse.  The following morning my dad had to make his pancakes, bacon and sausage breakfast.  I survived with two pancakes (about 3′ or 4′  in diameter), just a little bit of syrup and two pieces of bacon, short glass of OJ and a ton of water.  That night I found myself eating out at Applebees.  Thankfully they have several dishes listing WW points and calories, but of course I didn’t want any of those.  I picked a salad with grilled chicken, ordered the cheese AND dressing on the side, plus I was able to request just a 1/2 order.  I have no idea how many calories I eat, but with just a small pinch of cheese and 1/3 of the dressing I think I did pretty good.  All in all there were things I could have done better but it must not have been that bad, because I still lost this week.  It is very reassuring to know that my schedule can change and I can still pull through a loss.  My routines are so ingrained that I didn’t completely fall apart when faced with a few obstacles.  I need to let my routine give me strength and trust my instincts when things start to change.

So I’m half way through this journey, well half way through the weight.  I’m 15 weeks in and I’m hoping in another 18 weeks to be to my goal weight where I can really say I am not overweight, oh gosh I can’t wait to be able to say that!!!

Rewards, yes I think I deserve a reward.  I decided just last week that I’d get myself two t-shirts that I’ve been putting off buying once I reached my 1/2 way point.  I’m a book lover as hopefully you know and my two of my favorite series are Karen Marie Moning’s Fever series and Chloe Neill’s Chicagoland Vampire series.  The hero of the Fever series is Barrons, holy cow, my goodness what a great character!!!  I found a long sleeve t-shirt in pink (b/c I love pink and that is the heroine’s favorite color). The heroine from the Chicagoland series is Merit and her position in her house is Sentinel, I found this Organic Women’s Fitted T-Shirt I’ve ordered them both and I cant wait to wear them proudly!!

I’m trusting the process, are you trusting yours?

4 thoughts on “Scale Day v15.0

  1. Yay, self control. Special occasions happen all the time for me and that is definitely one of my weaknesses. As for the books, I haven’t read either series, but am always looking for something good to read and will be adding them to my list to check out. Thanks!

  2. I’m really not looking forward to the holidays this year!! I was talking about them with the DH the other day, explaining how careful I was going to have to be. Then I remembered the problem is just this year!! Next year, If I get to my goal weight in early 2012 and maintain it all year, I can indulge a little. for some reason it is easier to think of missing out for only this year, well we’ll see

    Please do check out these two series and let me know what you think!!

  3. Special occasions are a part (a good part) of life and we’ve got to find a way to eat sensibly during those times too. It’s all about portions I think. Taste but don’t go overboard on any one thing. There’s no use saying you won’t try something if it looks delish, but it isn’t ok to blow your efforts, on one night’s indulgence. Well done on your progress. You’re going to make it! 🙂

    http://www.myreallifereviews.com

    • Blowing away all my efforts is certainly something I don’t want to do!! I just keep telling myself that I need to stay the course until I meet my final goal. Then I can relax just a little. I’m actually looking forward to the days when I have to lose 2 pounds, rather than 36, well now 17.5 🙂

      Hope you have been finding time to work on your novel, I’m working on one as well. I’ve also cut back on my blogging and it certainly has helped to give me time to write, but I do so love the blogosphere, oh and twitter now too, are you on twitter?

Leave a Reply

