Scale Day v33.0

Patterns can show truth that you are unwilling to see.

Prior to my healthy journey I was in a pattern of gaining weight. It was not until I was determined to reverse the pattern that I began to change the pattern. Slowly but surely I began to lose weight. Weeks became months and I watch my BMI shrink from the bottom of the obese range to the top of the normal weight range. I did this with a change in my patterns. No secrets here. I simply lowered my calories, increased my water, and increased my activity…magic bullet.

Now I’m in the end of my first phase in my healthy journey and I’m having a hard time moving forward. My motivation is not the same. Sure I’m not super trim, but I’m no longer over weight. I’m no longer over weight, it can happen, it did happen 😀 With the change in my motivation I was concerned that my healthy pattern would disappear and I would slide right back into those unhealthy patterns. The thought scares the crap out of me!! But that really is not going to happen, sure it could, but it will NOT. I simply enjoy my workouts too much. I also enjoy my healthy eating style. Having energy and feeling good IS my new addiction. Temptations to sleep in or eat an extra piece of pizza are going to happen, but not daily, not anymore.

As of last week I was just over 4 pounds away from my weight goal. My weight goal provides me with a 6 pound margin before I slip back into the over weight range and it’s a nice round number at 130 (remember I’m only 5′ 2′).

Back when I was losing a pound or more consistently a week I was getting around 400 minutes of exercise a week. My goal has remained 400 minutes a week. I have not put in 400 minutes since my Nia training, which was just before Thanksgiving! Sure the holidays put a monkey wrench into my plans and extra work now makes extra workouts difficult. I keep trying to get 400 minutes, but it just isn’t going to happen. My schedule is just so tight and I can NOT do it ALL.

I think it is time for some new goals.

My exercise goal is now to workout once a day, everyday. I’m not going to fight about the minutes, although this should give me mid 300s, not bad. However, if I’m going to lower my minutes, I also need to lower my calories a bit, boo, but a necessary evil.

So why all this re-working? Well yesterday I did something I almost never do, I weighed myself on a non-weigh day. Back in college, when I was bulimic, I weighed myself like crazy. I do not want to become obsessed with the numbers. I want to trust the process. Anyways, I’m really glad I did, simply because of the number, 133.9. I was only 0.4 pounds down from last week, but I kinda love the number 33. There are several reasons why I love this number and I wont bore you with them. And don’t think I didn’t notice that this is week #33, see the name of this post!

Weird!

Today I weighed myself again, because it actually is scale day and I weighed 135.1, WHAT? I worked out yesterday, got all my water, and I did NOT go over my calorie limit. The human body is a mystery! Strange fluctuations have probably been happening all along, but I have not been weighing myself daily to know. But I am super glad I saw the scale yesterday, because I think seeing 135.1 today, after meeting my calorie limit & water goal each day (that alone should at least allow me to maintain my weight) would have made me cry, hard. Unfortunately I did skip two workouts this past week and I didn’t get in any double workouts, for a total of 230 minutes, still not terrible at all.

So what am I getting at? I want to trust the process. I know my minutes goal has to change and I’ll accepted the slower pace in my weight loss. Slow and steady wins the race after all, right?! I think not meeting my exercise minute goal was pulling me down, a pattern I was hating, which is just silly!!

Slow and steady! Trust the process! This I can do!

Do you have a goal that you consistently do not make? How are you going to change your pattern?

Leave a Reply

