Homemade Taco Seasoning

I’ve been spending a lot of money on taco seasoning lately. Love taking several pounds of meat (chicken, turkey or pork) from our bulk store, little water or stock, taco seasoning, and putting it all in the crock pot!! I’m a cook and freeze kind of girl and when a large part of our meal can come from the freezer the evenings become all kind of easy.

What was I writing about? Oh, right, taco seasoning…

I also love taking what I actually like in prepared foods and making them fresh myself. Not sure why it took me this long to figure out my own Taco Seasoning, it really is simple. I started with several recipes and now I’ve found what I like. Below you’ll find the inspiration recipes and my final tasty choice.

#1

1 tablespoon chili powder
1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
1/4 teaspoon onion powder
1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
1/4 teaspoon dried oregano
1/2 teaspoon paprika
1 1/2 teaspoons ground cumin
1 teaspoon sea salt
1 teaspoon black pepper

#2

3/4 cup dried minced onion
1/4 cup salt
1/4 cup chili powder
1 Tbsp. dried oregano
2 Tbsp. each cornstarch
1 Tbsp. crushed dried red pepper
1 Tbsp. dried minced garlic
1 Tbsp. ground cumin

#3 (from the same page as #2)

1 tablespoon chili powder
1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
1/4 teaspoon onion powder
1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
1/4 teaspoon dried oregano
1/2 teaspoon paprika
1 1/2 teaspoons ground cumin
1 teaspoon sea salt
1 teaspoon black pepper

#4

1/2 cup chili powder
1/2 cup cumin
1/2 cup oregano
1/2 garlic powder
1/4 cup onion powder
1/4 cup minced onion
3-4 Tablespoons cayenne pepper
4-6 Tablespoons sea salt
3 Tablespoons arrowroot powder (optional)

#5

1 teaspoon salt
¼ teaspoon cinnamon
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1 teaspoon ground black pepper
½ teaspoon ground dried hot red pepper flakes (or more or less to taste)
1 teaspoon sugar
¼ teaspoon garlic powder, or 2 cloves fresh garlic, peeled and chopped fine
1 medium onion, peeled and chopped fine (or substitute 2 teaspoons onion powder

Since my kids are eating the meat I’ve left out the heat. After trying the recipes above I tried: less chili powder, more paprika, more oregano, less cumin, LESS salt, less pepper, pinch cinnamon, cloves & a pinch of nutmeg…ding, ding, dong, yum that’s tasty!!

  • 2 teaspoons chili powder
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1 teaspoon onion powder
  • 1 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1 teaspoon paprika
  • 1 teaspoons ground cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon black pepper
  • Pinch cinnamon, cloves & nutmeg

I put everything in a coffee bean grinder (I have one that only grinds my herbs, although some coffee grounds might be good here too, but not herbs in my coffee, yuck!!), pulse for a couple of seconds and that’s it! Use it all within about 6-months. Most sites talked about putting a couple of tablespoons of seasonings for each pound of meat, you probably could lower this a bit, but that’s for you to figure out. Isn’t that great, you can find out what you prefer and do exactly that.

Happy TASTY cooking!!

5 thoughts on “Homemade Taco Seasoning

  1. Oooo, can’t wait to try this. My husband and I have taco a lot, mainly cause it’s quick and easy. Thanks Sidney!

    • I know right!! The meat freezes so well and once you get the right combo the herb mix is simple too & better than store brands cause it fits your tastes
      You’ll have to share your mix list once you find it

  2. Pingback: Links of the week #9 « S. J. Maylee

  3. Man! I WISH I had this post at hand the other day as I shopped for taco seasoning at the grocery store and became disgusted with the options. I’m keeping this bookmarked for the future. Awesome post, thank you so much!

Leave a Reply

